The Naskapi Education Committee was created under the Northeastern Quebec Agreement. For about 40 years, its members have been responsible for making key decisions about how best to make use of the budget granted for the purposes of supporting the education of Naskapi beneficiaries.

Its five members are elected and a sixth member, who does not vote, is the Coordinator of Naskapi education. That person is also the Principal of the Naskapi School, and acts as the secretary to the NEC.

The current members are:

Martha Mary Shecanapish, co-chair
Nathan Uniam, co-chair
Stephen Noah Mameamskum
William Swappie
Agnes Uniam